Throwing Rocks in the Stream

There was a time when I doubted myself. Sure Beth loves to throw rocks in the stream, but, I thought, what good is this stimmy obsession? It was disconcerting to let her go so deep within herself at the stream when she was younger. Should I discontinue stream outings? She couldn’t really answer questions because she was so absorbed in throwing rocks. I wondered if I should worry about the flapping after each throw. Another problem was she kept taking swipes of water from the stream (she put her hand in the stream and then licked the water off) and there were health concerns. When the swiping became uncontrollable, we had to take a break from streaming until I figured out that chewing gum prevented her from sampling the filthy water. But we continued going after the gum discovery because it made her so happy.

I am no longer worried about our stream outings. Beth can answer questions even while throwing rocks now. She can point to things and is aware of her environment. She can absorb new information between the times she is doing her rock-throwing thing. She will pause to say cheese for pictures and I can work some other activities into the rock-throwing (e.g., feeding the ducks). Streaming relaxes her and makes her happy, and that is what the flapping is probably about.

We went to the stream yet again today, and I realized how much she is really learning now, and how far I have come as her parent and guide. What does she learn on a stream outing? Plenty…

I believe she is experimenting with sound when she throws the rocks. Listen.

I highlight language for Beth, such as prepositions, nouns, comparisons, actions. We work on following directions. I said these things today on our stream outing, and her concentration on my words was obvious: I threw a rock on the wall, your rock went in front of the wall, let’s go up on the wall, and now let’s throw rocks down off the wall. The big rocks make a low sound and the little rocks make a high sound. The ducks were eating by putting their heads under the water and look the duck is flying now. I have a thin rock that I skipping on top of the water (on the surface of the water). The big birds up there look like eagles. Let’s go on the wall, let’s go to the shore (where the land is, where the dirt is), and let’s go that way. The rock went far, oh that one didn’t go far it fell near us, that is a small rock, that is a big rock, get the clean rocks, and not those rocks because they are dirty. Stop and come back this way. Do you see the school bus? I hear the plane…where is the plane? Look a dump truck! Where is the duck? What color is the bird in the sky? Look at the stick behind you (she picks it up, laughs out loud, throws it). All the while, she is having a blast.

IMG_4615[1]

IMG_4627[1]

IMG_4637[1]

 

IMG_4640[1]

Throwing rocks at the stream is also great for physical development. There was a time not too long ago she couldn’t crouch down, couldn’t hold something over her head, was unstable when walking on the rocks in the water, wouldn’t crouch and twist to get a rock. Now I see she can do so much more than she used to and it is amazing what playing in the stream has done for her.

IMG_4647[1]

IMG_4648[1]

IMG_4651[1]

Yes. It is okay to play in the stream, throwing rocks over and over, and flapping after each throw. It is more than okay. It is exactly what she needs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

