SHHHH-Don’t Tell Anyone. I Have a Child with Autism and I Have it Easy.

A story or status post pops up on my Facebook feed from one of the many autism parent bloggers I follow, and it usually falls into one of these common autism parent themes:

  1. Sleep Issues: The kid won’t sleep! or The kid woke up in the wee hours…again! or Thank God for Melatonin.
  2. Meltdowns & Aggression: Wow, that meltdown was epic and over nothing! or Strangers were asses today when my kid was melting down. or I am tired of being hit, bit, kicked, etc.
  3. Potty Misery: I can’t toilet train this kid. or Why does this kid hold it for days?
  4. School Issues: IEP meetings suck. or The school sucks. or Oh-oh…the school number just popped up on my screen-what did he/she do this time?
  5. Co-morbid medical issues: Nightmare at the doctor today. or Horrible ordeal with lab testing today. or Trying to get medicine in my kid is the worst.
  6. Food issues: My kid won’t eat and we are off to the feeding clinic. or OMG, all the time I am spending on this special diet is exhausting!
  7. I am Going Nuts: Can’t wait for the kid to go back to school. or I am hiding in the bathroom because I can’t take it anymore. or Why won’t this kid stop doing [insert massively annoying obsessive activity/vocalization]?

Honestly, it is getting harder and harder for me to relate to many of the posts I see come across the feed, because many of the problems we used to have are not problems anymore. Beth is still very delayed across the board (physical, fine motor, speech, social, and play), is a “slow progressor,” she is a wanderer, and she can have high anxiety in certain situations. BUT, on the very positive side, she is a great sleeper now, meltdowns and aggression are a distant memory, she is potty trained, we are happy with our school situation (homeschooling), she is healthy, she is a good eater, she lets me guide her, I enjoy being with her, and I see signs of progress every day. I am grateful. I am at peace. I feel lucky. And…I feel a bit guilty.

Beth Making Christmas Ornament Gifts, 2014

Beth Making Christmas Ornament Gifts, December 2014

Beth, Florida Christmas Trip, 2014

Beth, Florida Christmas Trip, December 2014

Beth, Sanibel Island, Christmas 2014

Beth, Sanibel Island, Christmas 2014

Beth, Making Soup, January 2015

Beth Making Soup, Part of Homeschooling Literature Assignment, January 2015

Beth, Homeschooling Independent Hand-Use Activities - January 2015

Beth, Homeschooling, Independent Hand-Use Activities – January 2015

4 thoughts on “SHHHH-Don’t Tell Anyone. I Have a Child with Autism and I Have it Easy.

  1. piera says:

    You earned your peace!!! Enjoy it =)

  2. sadienoelle says:

    You’ve had your struggles. And honestly, it seems like you did the right things while raising her thus why it may seem easier now. It wasn’t easy at first, but it pays off. Not saying your friends haven’t worked hard either, but sometimes it pays off better.

Leave a Reply

