Dear Whole Foods Cashier

Dear Whole Foods Cashier,

If you are reading this, it is because you accepted my offer to view my blog.

Here is the card I gave you:

Awareness Card for Blog

And here is what I wrote on the back:

Thank you for your kindness. It has been a rough couple of years for us. But today was a good day and you made it even better. Check out my blog if you want.

The good news is that my credit cards were in my other pants like I thought. I slipped them in my pants during an outing yesterday, because kiddo was running away from me a lot and I needed to hold her hand during the check out process. So I put the cards in my pocket for easy and quick access. Then I changed pants and totally forgot they were in the pants and not in my wallet today.

I wasn’t embarrassed or annoyed at my mistake because of me. I was sad because I promised kiddo she would get her usual chocolate chip cookie and chicken noodle soup at Whole Foods. She had such a great day because she spoke more words than I have ever heard her speak in a single day, she did great on a play date, and she did a wonderful job in her special needs swim class. I felt like I let her down with my forgetfulness. I was about to leave and I think you sensed my disappointment and sadness. Then you said, “Wait a minute.” You picked up the phone to talk to your manager and you handed me the bag and simply said, “It is on us.” I felt such relief and happiness! So, thank you again for your kindness. It meant so much to this fumbling mom and her little girl.

4 thoughts on “Dear Whole Foods Cashier

  1. This story made my day! Thanks so much for sharing… WOW!

  2. colleen says:

    Love it!!! There are really good people in this world!!! Great things happen to great people!!!

  3. jjay says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!! 🙂 Brought TEARS to my eyes!!! 🙂
    xo Julie Canada xo

Leave a Reply

